When filing for a divorce in Minnesota, you are required to attend an education program. The class “Parents Forever” is offered through the University of Minnesota Extension and you can find the class listings here. The classes are available throughout the metro area and range in price from $50-$90.
These classes are designed to give the parents tools to help their children through the divorce. The class teaches parents about the impact of divorce on children and how as a family you can find an agreeable way to move forward with your lives. More information on the “Parents Forever” program can be found at their website here.
At Wolf, Rohr, Gemberling and Allen P.A. we want to work with your family to find the best resolution and to make sure both parties are compliant in divorce requirements, such as parent education classes. Contact us today to learn more about our Family Law Attorneys and get a consultation.
The Minnesota State Legislature requires that all parents filing for divorce attend an educational program. The Hennepin County District Court requires that children of a divorce attend an educational program, as well.
Educational programs are required because parents have found them helpful to understand the legal system and their responsibilities. If you don’t attend the classes, a judge may refuse to schedule a hearing or grant your divorce. (However, if the children in the marriage for which you’re filing for divorce weren’t born to or adopted by both parties, you do not need to attend classes.)
You should finish these educational programs as soon as possible after you file for divorce. Your children should attend their program within 60 days of you filing for divorce. You must attend the programs before your divorce is final.
Your educational program will be determined based on the type of agreement you’ve reached within your divorce and child custody proceedings. Continue reading “Minnesota Families of Divorce: Education Requirements”